General Information

Top of Page

Laboratory Leadership Team

photo of Gibbs
Doon Gibbs

Laboratory Director

photo of Tribble
Robert Tribble

Deputy Director for Science and Technology

photo of Anderson
Jack Anderson

Deputy Director for Operations

photo of Mueller
Berndt Mueller

Associate Lab Director for Nuclear & Particle Physics

photo of Hill
John Hill

Interim Associate Lab Director for Basic Energy Sciences

photo of Dierker
Steven Dierker

Associate Lab Director for Photon Sciences

photo of Mann
Martin Schoonen

Interim Associate Lab Director for Env., Bio., Nuclear Science, and Nonproliferation 

photo of Schlagel
Thomas Schlagel

Chief Information Officer

photo of Bates
Lanny Bates

Assistant Lab Director for Facilities & Operations

photo of Davidson
Suzanne Davidson

Chief Financial Officer

photo of Genzer
Peter Genzer

Interim Assistant Lab Director for Community, Education, Gov't & Public Affairs

photo of Mattson
Gail Mattson

Assistant Lab Director for Environment, Safety & Health

photo of Lincoln
Robert Lincoln

Chief Human Resources Officer

photo of Bookless
William Bookless

Assistant Lab Director, Office of Policy & Strategic Planning

photo of Troutman
Anne Troutman

General Counsel

photo of Lebel
Roy Lebel

Quality Management Office

photo of Israel
Mark Israel

Internal Audit

Nuclear and Particle Physics

Berndt Mueller, Associate Lab Director

Laurence Littenberg (Chair)
Physics Department

Graham Smith
Instrumentation Division

Thomas Roser (Chair)
Collider-Accelerator Department

Peter Wanderer
Superconducting Magnet Division

Basic Energy Sciences

John Hill, (Interim) Associate Lab Director

Emilio Mendez (Director)
Center for Functional Nanomaterials

Alex Harris
Chemistry Department

Peter Johnson (Chair)
Condensed Matter Physics & Materials Science Department

J. Patrick Looney (Chair)
Sustainable Energy Technologies Department

Photon Sciences

Steven Dierker, Associate Lab Director

Ferdinand Willeke
Accelerator Division

Paul Zschack
Photon Division

Susan Perino (Interim)
Business Division

Environment, Biology, Nuclear Science, and Nonproliferation

Martin Schoonen (Interim)
Associate Lab Director

William Horak (Chair)
Nuclear Science & Technology

Carol Kessler (Chair)
Nonproliferation & National Security Department

Connie Cleary (Director)
Office of Technology Commercialization & Partnerships

Robert Harrison
Computational Sciences Center

Robyn Rock
Proposal Center


Facilities & Operations

Lanny Bates, Assistant Lab Director

Michael Pena (Manager)
Laboratory Protection Division

Tom Daniels
Modernization Project Office

Tom Lambertson
Site Resources Division

Edward Murphy
Energy & Utilities Division

Jeff Swenson
Staff Servcies Division


Community, Education, Government and Public Affairs

Peter Genzer (Interim)
Assistant Lab Director

Nora Sundin (Manager)
Stakeholder Relations Office

Peter Genzer (Manager)
Media & Communications Office

Ken White (Manager)
Educational Programs Office


Business Operations

Suzanne Davidson, Chief Financial Officer

Barbara Carreras (Budget Officer)
Business Development and Analysis Office

Peter Ferrara (Fiscal Officer)
Fiscal Services Division

Tony Guadagni
Property and Procurement Management Division

Cathy Lavelle (Manager)
Project Management Center

Environment, Safety & Health

Gail Mattson, Assistant Lab Director

Jason Remien (Interim)
Environmental Protection Division

Steven Coleman (Manager)
Radiological Controls Division

Ed Nowak (Manager)
Safety & Health Services Division