:: Next CMPMS Seminar

There are no seminars scheduled at this time.

Condensed Matter Physics & Materials Science Department

Basic Energy Sciences Directorate

Peter Johnson (Chair)

Chair: Peter D. Johnson

Peter Johnson Shares 2011 American Physical Society Oliver E. Buckley Prize

The Oliver E. Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics.

The field of Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science integrates the knowledge and tools of chemistry and physics with the principles of engineering to understand and optimize the behavior of materials, as well as to create new and improved materials to help fulfill the missions of the Department of Energy.

News Archives

Latest News

Previous Stories Previous Stories
  • smart grid

    Smart grid resiliency workshop focuses on microgrids

  • VIPIC prototype

    Multilaboratory collaboration brings new X-ray detector to light

  • Simerjeet Gill

    Women @ Energy: Simerjeet Gill

  • Tom Butcher

    BNL to host wood stove design competition

  • Feng Wang

    Toyota to use CFN to advance vehicle battery tech

  • Lynne Ecker

    Women @ Energy: Lynne Ecker

  • NCA structural transformation

    Tracking heat-driven decay in electric vehicle batteries

  • Nathalie Bouet

    Women @ Energy: Nathalie Bouet

  • Séamus Davis

    Davis to receive grant for exploring exotic quantum phenomena

  • Crystal Structure of WTe2

    Unstoppable Magnetoresistance

The researchers of the Condensed Matter Physics & Materials Science Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory study basic, theoretical and applied aspects of materials, their utilization, and their electronic, physical, mechanical, and chemical properties in relation to their structure. There are ten major research groups in the Department, summarized below:

Research Groups

Electron Spectroscopy Advanced Energy Materials
Neutron Scattering Correlated Electron Materials Group
X-ray Scattering Oxide Molecular Beam Epitaxy
Soft Matter Spectroscopic Imaging Group
Condensed Matter Theory Electron Microscopy and Nanostructure Group

John Hill receives a 2012 Brookhaven Science and Technology Award

CMPMSD Historical Slides (ppt)

Top of Page

Last Modified: May 31, 2013
Please forward all questions about this site to: Kim Mohanty