General Information

Top of Page

Director Search Committee

On behalf of the Brookhaven Science Associates (BSA) Board of Directors, BSA Board Chair Ronald D. Townsend named a search committee to select the next Director of Brookhaven Lab. The 10-member committee is made up of distinguished scientists and laboratory leaders who are well qualified to meet the challenge of conducting this important search.  

Search Committee Members

  • Dennis Assanis (Search Committee Co-Chair) – Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Stony Brook University; Member, BSA Board
  • Thom Mason (Search Committee Co-Chair) – Director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL); President and CEO, UT-Battelle, LLC
  • Barbara Baird - Horace White Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Cornell University / Peter Moore – Sterling Professor Emeritus, Yale University; BSA S&T Steering Committee
  • Diane Hatton – Chief Operating Officer and Business Division Director, Photon Sciences Directorate, Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL)
  • Lisa Miller – Associate Division Director for Spectroscopy, Imaging, & MX Program, Photon Division, Photon Sciences Directorate, BNL
  • James Misewich – Associate Laboratory Director, Basic Energy Sciences Directorate, BNL
  • Robert Redwine – Professor of Physics, Director of the Bates Linear Accelerator Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Member, BSA Board
  • Thomas Roser – Chair, Collider-Accelerator Department, BNL
  • A.J. Stewart Smith – Dean for Research, Class of 1909 Professor of Physics, Princeton University; Member, BSA Board
  • Jeffrey Smith – Deputy for Operations, ORNL; Member, BSA Board  

Brookhaven Lab’s Chief Human Resources Officer, Bob Lincoln, will provide administrative support to the search committee. He will also help the committee to solicit recommendations from the Brookhaven Lab community, the Lab’s stakeholders, and the science community at large.