General Information

Top of Page

A Dedicated Full-Field Imaging Beamline at NSLS II

June 4, 2010

Brookhaven National Laboratory, Bldg. 817, Rm. 4

Workshop Organizer: Jake Socha (Virginia Tech),  Wah Keat Lee (Argonne National Laboratory)

Full-field X-ray Imaging is a technique that is applicable to a very broad range of disciplines.  While x-ray imaging is an old field, the advent of low-emittance synchrotrons over the last two decades has led to a significant resurgence of the field, with the development of new phase-contrast, 3D and high-speed techniques.   The scientific impact of this resurgence has been impressive and has extended well beyond the conventional physical sciences, into diverse fields such as physiology and paleontology.  The US is trailing Europe and Japan in synchrotron-based full-field x-ray imaging facilities.  This workshop brings together a key group of scientists to provide input to develop a proposal for a dedicated full-field x-ray imaging beamline at NSLS II.  The goals of the workshop are as follows:

(i) Identify strong scientific cases for the construction of a dedicated full-field imaging beamline at NSLS-II

(ii) Identify the key techniques that will be served by the beamline

(iii) Identify critical beamline parameters, such as the optimum energy range, beamsize, and coherence that are needed to fulfill the scientific mission

Speakers & organizers:

Ulrike Wegst, Drexel University,
uwegst@coe.drexel.edu
Eric Arndt, MIT
Les Butler, Louisiana State U,
lbutler@lsu.edu
Clint Willson, Lousiana State U, cwillson@lsu.edu
Pat Herendeen, Chicago Botanical Garden, pherendeen@chicagobotanic.org
Pavlos Vlachos, Virginia Tech, pvlachos@vt.edu
Jake Socha, Virginia Tech, jjsocha@vt.edu
Konstantin Kornev, Clemson, kkornev@clemson.edu
Avraham Dilmanian, Brookhaven National Lab, dilmanian@bnl.gov
Wah-Keat Lee, Argonne National Lab, wklee@aps.anl.gov
Jun Wang, NSLS, BNL

 

Agenda
 

9:30 - 10:00 Jake Socha The Biomechanics of Internal Flow Systems in Insects
11:00 - 11:30 Eric Ardnt Mechanics of Biological Exoskeletons
11:30 - 12:00pm Les Butler Dynamic Sensing with Phase and Absorption Contrast (DSP)
12:30 - 1:00 Clint Willson Image-based Modeling and Pore-scale Quantification
1:00 - 1:30 Pavlos Vlachos Fluid Mechanics of Arterial Stents and Left-Ventricular Diastolic Dysfunction
1:30 - 2:00 Pat Herendeen Tomography of Fossil Plants
2:00 - 2:30 Konstantin Kornev Bioinspired Fiber-based Micro and Nanofluidics
2:30 - 3:00 Jun Wang & Zhong Zhong TXM Summary
3:00 - 3:30 Avraham Dilmanian Medical Applications and the Medical/Therapy BL Proposal
3:30 - 4:00   Wrap-up

Administrative Contact:  Lydia Rogers, telephone:  631-344-4746; email: lrogers@bnl.gov

Note:  for those wishing to attend who do NOT have a valid BNL ID badge:

      1) Non-US citizens MUST register in the Guest Information System before May 28: http://www.bnl.gov/guv/gis.asp.

           2)  US citizens MUST send their names to lrogers@bnl.gov by June 3  for BNL access.

 

 

 

Top of Page

Last Modified: April 2, 2013
Please forward all questions about this site to: BNL Web Services