Home  |  Past Issues  |  Contact Us  | RHIC


Annual Users Meeting

June 1-5, 2009
Brookhaven National Laboratory


Barbara Jacak Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Barbara Jacak, Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Stony Brook University and spokesperson of the PHENIX experiment since December 2006, has been named to the National Academy of Sciences. Membership in the NAS is one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States. Professor Jacak will be inducted into the Academy next April during its 147th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

With this election, the National Academy of Sciences consists of 2150 distinguished American scientists who advise the nation on scientific and technical issues as part of an organization incorporated by Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Among the NAS's renowned members are Albert Einstein, Robert Oppenheimer, Thomas Edison, Orville Wright, and Alexander Graham Bell. Over 180 living Academy members have won Nobel Prizes.

The news release and the names of the other 71 newly elected members of the NAS is here.