BNL Home

Laboratory Leadership Team

photo of Robert M. Konik

Lynne Ecker

Chair of the Department of Nuclear Science and Technology

photo of Lynne Ecker

Lynne Ecker is the chair of the Department of Nuclear Science and Technology at Brookhaven National Laboratory. The department is part of the Environment, Biology, Nuclear Sciences and Nonproliferation Directorate and serves as a resource for nuclear physics research and nuclear technologies such as reactors, accelerator driven systems and isotope applications. The department is home to the National Nuclear Data Center which collects, evaluates, archives and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and applied nuclear technologies. 

Lynne Ecker has over 20 years of experience in nuclear material science with an emphasis on performance of structural materials in nuclear reactor applications. Her recent research interests include developing synchrotron characterization techniques explicitly for the investigation of materials for nuclear energy systems including using robots for handling radioactive samples and X-ray diffraction tomography to investigate material degradation. She is on the leadership team for the Molten Salts in Extreme Environments Energy Frontier Research Center where she coordinates the research on interfacial and corrosion Science.  

Lynne Ecker earned a Ph.D. in Solid State Physics, M.S. in mechanical engineering and B.A. in physics from Syracuse University. Previously, she worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory (now part of the Naval Nuclear Laboratory) 8 years where she was a scientist in the Computational Materials Science group and the cognizant engineer for heavy equipment for submarines. She is currently serving on the review board of the Nuclear Science User Facilities and is a member of the American Nuclear Society and Materials Research Society.