BNL Home

2015 DOE Accelerator Safety Workshop (ASW)

New Frontiers and Operational Challenges


The 2015 DOE Accelerator Safety Workshop (ASW) will be held at Brookhaven National Laboratory on September 22-24, 2015. The intent is to share experience and gain consensus on how safety systems are efficiently applied to accelerator facilities. The workshop atmosphere is informal and open discussion is encouraged.

The DOE Accelerator Community has worked every year to encourage and improve communications across the DOE complex, especially across the DOE Accelerator Community. Improved communications has led to the development of a new Order (DOE 420.2C), development of a new Guide (DOE G 420.2-1), and a Draft Technical Standard to address Clearance of Material from Accelerator Facilities.

Speaker Info (Presentations)

PowerPoint presentations need to be submitted to Darcy Mallon ( no later than Friday, September 18, 2015, and will be available to download at the beginning of the Workshop.

Evening Events

Registered participants are invited to attend the following events:

Tuesday Night No-host Dinner
Hotel INDIGO: East End
September 22, 2015 7:00-9:00 PM

Cash or check payments (no credit cards) will be collected at the workshop.

BNL Facility Tours
Participants can tour the following: The National Synchrotron Light Source II on Wednesday, September 23, 2015 and the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider on Thursday, September 24, 2015. View Details


Click on the "Workshop Information" tab above to find accommodation information.

Continuing Education Credits

Accelerator Safety Workshop 2015 has been granted 1 CEC per contact hour (excluding meals without technical content and business meetings) to a maximum of 24 CEC by the AAHP. Assigned ID: 2015-09-003

Workshop Organizers

  • Andrew Ackerman (BNL)
  • John Anderson (FNAL)
  • Judith Blackistone (DOE SC)
  • Scott Davis (DOE SC)
  • Amy Ecclesine (LBNL)
  • Ian Evans (SLAC)
  • Harry Fanning (JLab)
  • David Freeman (ORNL)
  • Les Hill (BNL)
  • Edward Lessard (BNL)
  • Darcy Mallon (BNL)
  • Gail Mattson (BNL)
  • Bob May (JLab)
  • Chuck Schaefer (BNL)
  • Tim Stirrup (Sandia)



Top of Page

Last Modified: December 27, 2017