The rule
The infield fly rule applies when there are fewer than two outs, and there is a force play at third (runners on first and second base, or bases loaded). In these situations, if a fair fly ball is hit that, in the umpire's judgment, is catchable by an infielder with ordinary effort, the batter is out regardless of whether the ball is actually caught in flight. The rule states that the umpire is supposed to announce, "Infield fly, if fair." If the ball will be almost certainly fair, the umpire will likely yell, "Infield fly, batter's out!" or just "Batter's out!" Umpires also typically raise one arm straight up to signal to everyone that the rule is in effect. Any fair fly ball that could have been caught by an infielder with ordinary effort is covered by the rule, regardless of where the ball was caught. The ball need not be caught by an infielder, nor must it be caught in the infield. For example, if an infielder retreats to the outfield in an effort to catch a fly ball with ordinary effort, the Infield Fly Rule would be invoked, even if an outfielder ultimately caught the ball, and even if no infielder attempted to make a play on the ball. Similarly, a fly ball within the infield that could have been caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, but is caught by an outfielder, would also be covered by the rule. On a caught infield fly, the runners must tag up (retouch their base at the time of pitch) in order to be eligible to advance, as on any catch. If the infield fly falls to fair ground untouched, or is touched and dropped, runners need not tag up. In either case, since the batter is out, the force play on other runners is removed.
History
This rule was introduced in 1895, in response to infielders intentionally dropping pop-ups in order to get multiple outs by forcing out the runners on base, who were pinned near their bases while the ball was in the air. It is a cousin to the third-strike rule. A batter who swings and misses a third strike which is not caught automatically becomes a runner if first base is not occupied with fewer than two outs, and also if first base is occupied with two outs. After 2005, the batter must be running towards first base before he departs the dirt circle area around home plate or he is called out.

Misconceptions
Participants and fans sometimes misunderstand the infield fly rule. The infield fly rule is not in effect if there is a runner on first only, as the rule-makers assumed fielders would not gain a significant advantage by forcing out the runner rather than the batter; in either case, the net result would be one more out and a runner on first base. Also, an infield fly does not affect baserunners other than the batter. Just like any other fly ball, if an infield fly is caught, runners must retouch (or "tag up") their time-of-pitch base before attempting to advance; if an infield fly is not properly caught, no tag up is required and the runners may try to advance. The infield fly rule cannot be invoked on line drives or bunts; also, the infield fly rule is not intended to cover all situations where the defense may wish to allow a fly ball to drop uncaught. For example, with just a runner on first, an alert infielder might purposely let a popup drop to the ground and get the force at second, if it happens that the runner on first is faster afoot than the batter-runner is, or if the batter is loafing on his way to first base. This is only legal if the fielder lets the ball hit the ground untouched, which carries some risk to the fielder as it might bounce away from him. However, in all situations where the infield fly rule does not apply, a different rule prevents fielders from touching a catchable ball and dropping it intentionally in an attempt to turn a double or triple play.
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REMEMBER THE BEATLES SONG "Help"? That's what the language of the Infield Fly rule (2.00) needs--help! Every big league player knows that the rule is invoked whenever a batter hits a fair fly that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two outs.

The batter is automatically declared out, but runners may attempt to advance at their own risk. The purpose of the rule that was instituted in 1895 is to protect runners from deceitful acts by members of the defense. If an infielder purposely drops a soft fly ball, it can easily result in a double play or triple play. Bunts are excluded as far as this rule is concerned.

As stated, when the umpires call "Infield Fly," the batter is automatically out but runners may advance at their own risk. If they should advance, a tag is required to put out an advancing runner since runners are not forced to advance on such plays. This is where the confusion lies because the situation resembles a force play but it is not. I know of at least three instances during the 2003 season when defensive players (primarily third basemen) were not aware that a tag was necessary to retire a runner. And as often happens, the runner is not usually aware that a tag is required.

I strongly believe that the language of the rule needs to be amended to explain the necessity of a tag when runners advance at their own risk after an Infield Fly is called. Although sacrosanct to baseball's playing code, the Infield Fly rule lacks understanding by an alarming number in the baseball world, both past and present.

Ignorance of the tag aspect of the rule occurred on May 13 this past season at Pac Bell Stadium where the Giants hosted the Expos. In a previous column, I covered the play from the eyes of the official scorer. Here is what happened.

The Giants had the bases loaded with one out in the fifth inning. Dan Smith had just relieved Tomo Ohka when Barry Bonds hit a fly ball that fell in front of home plate. Plate ump Jim Joyce correctly signaled "Infield Fly." Thinking he had a force at home, Expos' third baseman Fernando Tatis picked up the ball and stepped on the plate unaware that a tag was required to retire Neifi Perez, the Giants' runner on third who for some reason came thundering home to score the tying run untouched.

Obviously, Tatis and Barrett did not understand the defensive requirements of the rule and I'm not sure if Perez had a handle on the offensive side.

Case No. 2. On August 27, the Astros hosted the Dodgers. In the top of the first inning, the Dodgers had Paul Lo Duca on second and Shawn Green on first with Jeremy Burnitz at bat. Burnitz lofted a fly to short left that fell between shortstop Adam Everett and left felder Lance Berkman. Everett heard umpire Marvin Hudson yell, "Infield Fly" and got out of the way. The ball fell to the ground and both Lo Duca and Green took off.

Berkman fired the ball to Houston third baseman Geoff Blum who failed to tag Lo Duca. That was mistake number one. The next one came when Lo Duca, thinking he was out, momentarily left the base. Fortunately, third base coach Glen Hoffman wisely instructed Lo Duca to return--which he did.

The Astros dodged a bullet as Adrian Beltre, the next hitter, grounded to shortstop to end the inning without a run being scored.

Case No. 3. The Orioles entertained the Red Sox at Camden Yards on September 9. The Red Sox had Johnny Damon on second and Bill Mueller on first when Nomar Garciaparra hit a pop fly about 10-15 feet behind second base. First base ump Phil

Right fielder Melvin Mora and second baseman Jose Morban both thought the other one would catch it. Nobody did and the ball fell untouched. Damon sprinted to third since he was allowed to run at his own risk. Mora picked up the ball and fired it to third baseman Tony Batista who never tagged Damon. Mueller went to second on the play.

Not only was Batista apparently confused, third base umpire Jerry Crawford called Damon out. Crawford subsequently called Damon safe. However, Bill Stetka, the Orioles' Director/Public Relations, said," I don't think Crawford realized that Cuzzi had called the Infield Fly." If that's true, we have to give Crawford a pass. And maybe Batista, maybe not!

Now you're probably thinking that these mindless, wealthy 21st century players have the rules I.Q. the size of a hockey score. Possible. But players historically have been ignorant of the tag requirements of the Infield Fly rule.

On July 25, 1961, the Cubs and Cardinals hooked up. In the second inning, the Cubs had Run Santo on second and Jerry Kindall on first when Ed Bouchee popped to second baseman Julian Javier. As there were less than two out, the Infield Fly rule was called and Bouchee was ruled out. Then things got a little hairy.

Javier dropped the ball and Santo, free to advance at his own peril, headed to third. Javier recovered the ball and threw to Ken Boyer, who stepped on the bag but did not tag Santo. The force was not in order, but Santo thinking he had been retired, started toward the dugout. At that point Cardinal pitcher Ray Sadecki yelled to Boyer, who tagged Santo when he attempted to return to the base.

I can give you more but I think yon get the point. It was not my intent to ridicule these who seemed to lack knowledge in the overall aspects of the Infield Fly rule in the situations that I outlined. I believe the problem lies in the lack of clarity of the rule itself.

To the Official Playing Rules committee, I ask you to simply add a case book comment to the rule that reads, "Whenever an Infield Fly rule is called by the umpires, runners may advance at their own risk. This is not a force play, therefore a runner must be tagged if he attempts to advance." Help!

