Mailed 4/18/97


EVENT: Testing of model vehicles propelled by magnetic levitation (maglev) for the Eighth Annual Middle School Magnetic Levitation Contest. Maglev, the suspension, guidance and propulsion of vehicles by magnetic forces, was invented and patented in 1968 by Brookhaven National Laboratory scientists Gordon Danby and James Powell. It may be the transportation of the future because it is less costly and environmentally friendlier than building new roads.

Media representatives are invited to attend the contest. Although students, parents and teachers will be present, the event is closed to the general public because of space limitations.

WHEN: Tuesday, April 29, from 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

WHERE: Brookhaven Center, Brookhaven National Laboratory. The Lab is located on William Floyd Parkway (County Road 46), one-and-a-half miles north of Exit 68 of the Long Island Expressway.

DETAILS: Over 300 middle school technology students from 16 schools in Nassau and Suffolk Counties have entered the 1997 contest. Hosted by the Laboratory for the first time, the contest is sponsored by BNL; Hofstra University, Center for Technology Education; the Long Island Technology Administration Association; the Nassau Technology Association; and the Suffolk Technology Education Association. (Attached is a list of schools that have entered students in the contest.) The students were required to design and construct model vehicles according to certain size and weight specifications, with the goal being to design the fastest vehicle that carries the greatest load with the fewest magnets. In addition, the students will be judged on the design briefs for their vehicles. There will be three winners in four categories: appearance, wind power, self-propelled, and electrified track. Each of the dozen winners will receive a trophy.

The vehicles will be tested on special tracks, while the students observe how their vehicles fare. The handmade, unique vehicles and the enthusiasm of the middle school students provides excellent visuals.

The media will be accommodated, but the event is not open to the general public.




Participating Schools

Albert G. Prodell Middle School (Shoreham-Wading River)

Center Moriches Jr/Sr High School

Dawnwood Middle School (Centereach)

Hauppauge Middle School

Herricks Middle School (Albertson)

Hicksville Middle School

Islip Middle School

James Vernon Middle School (East Norwich)

John F. Kennedy Middle School (Bethpage)

Mineola Middle School

Mount Sinai Middle School

Port Jefferson Middle School

Robert Moses Middle School (North Babylon)

South Winds Middle School (Syosset)

Wisdom Lane Middle School (Levittown)

W. Tresper Clarke Middle School (Westbury)

Last updated 5/28/99 by Public Affairs