For Immediate Release June 18, 1998

DOE Media Contacts: Carol Morrison, 630-252-2014; Gary Pitchford, 630-252-2013




Dean Helms, Executive Manager of the U. S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Brookhaven Group, today announced the appointment of Scott Mallette as the department's Senior Environmental Manager of the DOE Brookhaven Group.

Mr. Mallette is responsible for providing advice and assistance to the Brookhaven Group Manager on environmental management and clean-up activities at Brookhaven National Laboratory.

In his new position, Mr. Mallette will lead the team of DOE environmental professionals and advise the Brookhaven Group Manager on environmental restoration, waste management and compliance issues at the laboratory. Responsibilities include assessing contractor environmental priorities to ensure consistency with regulatory and public health concerns as well as interacting with regulators and members of the community.

"I am delighted to have a person of Scott Mallette's experience and capability in environmental management join the Brookhaven Group team," said Mr. Helms. "He will help us meet our commitment to the community in addressing the environmental challenges at Brookhaven."

Mr. Mallette brings 16 years of experience in environmental management positions to the Brookhaven Group. Since 1990, he has served as the Environmental Project Manager at two DOE facilities--the Savannah River Site in Aiken, South Carolina and the Fernald Environmental Management Project in Fernald, Ohio for the Parsons Corporation of Pasedena, California.

Prior to working for DOE, Mr. Mallette served as Supervisory Environmental Engineer for the U. S. Department of Defense's Wright Patterson Air Force Base. In this capacity, he was the environmental programs point of contact for both state and regulatory agencies and the media.

Mr. Mallette received Bachelor of Science degrees in environmental engineering and environmental science from Purdue University and a Masters of Science Degree in Engineering Management from the University of Dayton in 1986.