April 21, 1999
A 00 104 99


Brookhaven Lab Awards the Gertrude S. Goldhaber Prize

Click image to download a 300-dpi, high-resolution jpg file.

In a ceremony held at the U.S. Department of Energy's Brookhaven National Laboratory, Angelika Osanna (second from left) received the Gertrude S. Goldhaber Prize. Administered by Brookhaven Women in Science (BWIS), the $1,000 prize is awarded in honor of the late Gertrude Scharff -Goldhaber (whose image is projected on the wall), the renowned scientist who was Brookhaven Lab's first woman nuclear physicist. The prize recognizes substantial promise and accomplishment by a woman graduate student in physics who is either enrolled at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Stony Brook or is performing thesis research at Brookhaven Lab. At the awards ceremony, Ms. Osanna,who expects to earn her Ph.D. this summer, met with former Brookhaven Lab Director Maurice Goldhaber (second from right), who was married to Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber. Ms. Osanna did most of her research as a graduate student at Brookhaven's National Synchrotron Light Source, a facility in which x-rays, ultraviolet light and infrared light are used to probe a variety of materials, from biological specimens to computer chips. On hand to congratulate Ms. Osanna were Brookhaven Lab employees and BWIS board members Pamela Mansfield (left) and Dorry Tooker (right) and Ms. Osanna's advisor and an associate professor of physics at SUNY Stony Brook, Chris Jacobsen.

* * *
NOTE TO LOCAL EDITORS: Angelika Osanna is a resident of Rocky Point, NY.