Science & Technology | Environment | Newsroom | Administration | Directory | Visitor Info | Beyond Brookhaven
go to BNL home

A-Z Site Index

Most Recent News

News Archives

Media Contacts

About Brookhaven

Fact Sheets

Management Bios

Science Magazine

Brookhaven History

Image Library




Building 134
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973-5000
phone 631 344-2345
fax 631 344-3368

managed for the U.S. Department of Energy
by Brookhaven Science Associates, a company
founded by Stony Brook University and Battelle

News Release

Number: 03-41
Released: May 27, 2003
Contact: Diane Greenberg, 631 344-2347 or Mona S. Rowe, 631 344-5056

Two Stony Brook University Students Awarded 2003 Scharff-Goldhaber Prize

UPTON, NY - Lilia Anguelova (back row, middle) and Carola Berger (front row, right), doctoral students at Stony Brook University’s (SBU) C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics, have won the 2003 Scharff-Goldhaber Prize. Each will receive a $1,000 award. The Scharff-Goldhaber Prize was established to recognize substantial promise and accomplishment by women graduate students in physics who are enrolled at SBU or who are performing their thesis research at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Brookhaven National Laboratory.

Administered by Brookhaven Women in Science (BWIS), the award honors the late nuclear physicist Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber (image in background). In 1950, Scharff-Goldhaber became the first woman Ph.D. physicist appointed to the Brookhaven staff, and, later, she became a founding member of BWIS.

Also in the photo are Sara Dawson (left, front), a Brookhaven physicist who was one of the scientists on the Scharff-Goldhaber Prize selection committee; Vinita Ghosh (middle, front), a physicist who is a member of the BWIS scholarship committee; Martin Rocek (back, left), an SBU physics professor and Anguelova’s thesis advisor; and Maurice Goldhaber, Scientist Emeritus at Brookhaven and widower of Gertrude-Scharff Goldhaber.

> Hi-resolution, 300-dpi jpeg of the group photo shown above (2 Mb).