BNL Home

Center for Emergent Superconductivity (CES)

2017 Annual Meeting


The objective of the 2017 CES Annual Meeting is to bring together our CES researchers to strengthen existing collaborations and to identify new areas of fundamental research in superconductivity across our sites. We will charge our Executive Committee and other members of our EFRC to lead the discussions communicating our CES scientific goals and synergy. Our External Advisory Board (EAB), Institutional Advisory Board (IAB), and invited visitors will be there to offer guidance.

The discussions will focus on our three themes:

  1. Continuing our research towards microscopic theories of unconventional superconductivity, which includes high-temperature superconductivity (HTS).
  2. Our continued development of a Materials Genome, identifying metrics of success and leading to, in the long term, "HTS by design."
  3. Research on vortex matter both for our fundamental understanding and applications, leading to, in the long term, "critical-current-by-design."

We will hold a number of 'break-out' sessions related to our focus topics to identify new research directions, collaborations and to enhance the synergy and efficiency among the three CES institutions. IAB and EAB members will be interspersed among the sessions and provide input.

The event will be held on November 13-15, 2017 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, starting with our annual Junior Research Meeting on Monday, November 13, and our annual CES Meeting on November 14-15. Junior researchers will play a prominent role in talks and poster presentations.

Organizing Committee

  • Jim Eckstein (Univ. of Illinois)
  • Mike Norman (ANL)
  • Peter Johnson (BNL)
  • Laura Greene (Florida State Univ.)
  • Wai Kwok (ANL)
  • John Tranquada (BNL)
  • J.C. (Seamus) Davis (BNL)

Executive Committee

  • Peter Johnson
  • John Tranquada
  • Seamus Davis
  • Laura Greene
  • Jim Eckstein
  • Mike Norman
  • Wai –K. Kwok

Institutional Advisory Board (IAB)

  • Jim Misewich
  • Peter Schiffer
  • Harry Weerts

External Advisory Board (EAB)

  • Warren Pickett
  • Steve Kivelson
  • Zach Fisk
  • Alan Goldman
  • Andy Millis


Click on the "Meeting & BNL Information" tab above to find accommodation information.

Note: This event falls under Exemption E. Meetings such as Advisory Committee and Federal Advisory Committee meetings. Solicitation/Funding Opportunity Announcement Review Board meetings, peer review/objective review panel meetings,evaluation panel/board meetings, and program kick-off and review meetings (including those for grants and contracts).

Top of Page

Last Modified: December 27, 2017