Safe Drinking Water Act



The Safe Drinking Water Act (SWDA) is the principal federal law in the United States that ensures that drinking water is safe. Pursuant to the act, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is required to set standards for drinking water quality and oversee all states, localities, and water suppliers who implement these standards.

SDWA was originally passed by Congress in 1974 to protect public health by regulating the nations public drinking water supply. The law was amended in 1986 and 1996 and requires many actions to protect drinking water and its sources: rivers, lakes, reservoirs, springs, and ground water wells.

The sole source aquifer designation is one tool that EPA uses to protect drinking water supplies in areas where there are few or no alternative sources to the ground water resource. The designation protects an areas ground water resource by requiring EPA to review certain proposed projects within the designated area. Any person may apply for a sole source aquifer designation by petitioning the EPA.

How BNL Complies

SDWA requirements are locally enforced by the Suffolk County Department of Health Services (SCDHS). Because BNL provides potable water to more than 25 full-time residents, it is subject to the same requirements as a municipal water supplier. Monitoring requirements are prescribed annually by SCDHS, and a Potable Water Sampling and Analysis Plan is prepared by BNL to comply with these requirements.

Documents / Links

2009 Site Environmental Report Chapter 3, Compliance Status

EPA Safe Drinking Water Act