X-Ray Scattering Group

John Hill

John Hill

X-Ray Group Leader

ph: (631) 344-3736


After obtaining a B.Sc. degree in physics in 1986 from Imperial College, John earned a Ph.D. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992. From there, he joined the Department of Physics, Brookhaven National Laboratory, as a post-doc. He was promoted through the ranks and received tenure in 1999. He was appointed Group Leader of the X-ray Scattering Group in 2001. John was awarded the Presidential Early Career Award and the DOE Young Independent Scientist Award in 1996 and was elected a fellow of the APS in 2002

He served on the NSLS Users Executive Committee from 1999 to 2001, and from 2001 to 2007, he was the Executive Director of IXS-CDT, a consortium that led the design, construction and commissioning of an inelastic x-ray scattering beamline at the Advanced Photon Source.

From February  2006 to August 2008, he served as Experimental Facilities Division Director for the NSLS-II project, with responsibility for overseeing all aspects of the design, construction and commissioning of the Experimental Facilities, a scope of work that includes beamlines, the associated R+D programs and the interaction with users.

He now serves as Special Assistant for Photon Sciences within the Basic Energy Sciences Directorate, with responsibility for coordinating the Directorate's planning and use of current and future photon sources.

His research is presently focused on understanding the novel electronic ground states and excitations in strongly correlated electron systems with particular focus on the electron dynamics as probed in the energy domain (inelastic scattering) and in the time domain (time resolved measurements from femto seconds to minutes).

Top of Page

Last Modified: July 12, 2012
Please forward all questions about this site to: Stuart Wilkins