Research For Our Energy Future

Center for Emergent Superconductivity

Principal Investigators

PI Home | CES Home

CV Image

Laura H. Greene

Swanlund Professor of Physics
Center for Advanced Study Professor of Physics
Department of Physics
1110 West Green Street
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Urbana, IL 61801-3080

Phone: (217) 333-7315
Fax:     (217) 244-8544



Laura H. Greene received her BS and MS degrees from The Ohio State University and in 1984, received a Ph.D. in Physics from Cornell University, investigating the linear and non-linear far-infrared properties of materials. She joined Bell Laboratories and then Bellcore, where she researched thin-film growth and tunneling of metallic multilayers, heavy-Fermions, superconductor-semiconductor hybrid structures and high-temperature superconductors. In 1992, she joined the senior physics faculty at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Her research continues in experimental condensed matter physics focusing on highly-correlated electron systems and novel materials; in particular high-temperature superconductors, and the interfaces between metallic superconductors and compound-semiconductor heterostructures. Thin film and multilayer growth with extensive materials analysis is routinely performed. Planar tunneling spectroscopy, electronic transport, Raman scattering, electron spin resonance and muon spin relaxation are employed to investigate mechanisms of superconductivity and charge and transport across superconducting interfaces. Much of her research investigates the role of broken symmetries and their physical ramifications in condensed matter systems, especially that of spontaneously broken-time reversal symmetry in unconventional superconductors.

Greene has served the American Physical Society as a General Councilor, member of their Executive Board, member of their Division of Condensed Matter Physics Nominating Committee and Chair of their Committee on Committees. She was elected as a delegate to the Low-Temperature Physics Commission of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, where she also serves on their US Liaison Committee. She is a founding member or the Board of Trustees of the Los Alamos-based Institute for Complex and Adaptive Materials. In 1999, Greene was elected to member-at-large of the Council of Gordon Research Conferences and serves on their Schedule and Selection Committee. In 2000, Greene was elected to the Electorate Nominating Committee of the Physics Section of the American Association of the Advancement of Science. Also in 2000, she was appointed by the Secretary of Energy, Bill Richardson, to the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) of the Department of Energy. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences. In 1994, Greene was the recipient of the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award of the American Physical Society. In 1999, she received the E. O. Lawrence Award for Materials Research from the Department of Energy. In 2000, she was named to the Swanlund Endowed Chair of the University of Illinois. Over her career, Greene has co-authored approximately 140 publications and has presented more than 180 invited talks.

Honors & Awards

Selected Publications

top of page

Last Modified: esponse.Write (FileLastMod()) %>