Pehr Edman Awards

The 2002 IAPSAP/MPSA Pehr Edman Award has been given to Professor Hans Jörnvall, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden and Emeritus Professor Kenneth Walsh, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA.

Dr. Hans Jörnvall

Dr. Hans Jörnvall has made numerous contributions to protein chemistry and protein structure and function from techniques associated with the development and use of Edman chemistry through structure-function studies on the alcohol dehydrogenases. His studies on the relationships between these enzymes have led to an understanding of the control of their metabolic properties, an appreciation of their wider role in cellular metabolism, and of their importance in human genetic diseases. Importantly, he has made substantial contributions to the development of techniques for the characterization of proteins including high performance chromatography, capillary electrophoresis, methods for deblocking N-terminally acetylated proteins and for C-terminal sequential protein degradation.

For additional information on Dr. Jörnvall, see: http://www.mbb.ki.se/hejlab


Dr. Kenneth Walsh

Dr. Kenneth Walsh has had a long and productive career in protein chemistry. Of particular importance is his early work improving strategies for automated sequencing of proteins and identifying posttranslational modifications. These analyses contributed to concepts regarding the evolution of protein structure and function through gene duplication, the gradual divergence of their sequences, and gene fusions. He was among the first to draw attention to the power of mass spectrometry techniques for protein characterization. Among his recent accomplishments are the development of a method for direct sequence analysis of proteins using in-source fragmentation, and for locating and identifying protein posttranslational modifications.

For additional information on Dr. Walsh, see: http://depts.washington.edu/biowww/faculty/walsh.html

Top of Page

Last Modified: December 17, 2007