BNL Home

23rd International Congress on X-ray Optics and Microanalysis (ICXOM23)


ICXOM23 will bring together scientists in the fields of x-ray microanalysis and those involved in optical instrumentation developments which will extend the reach of microanalysis. Although synchrotron radiation will be at the heart of the conference, since electron microscopy offers a different view of materials, the conference also welcomes contributions of recent developments in that field.

Topics Include

  • Optics for Microanalysis
  • Scanning Microscopy
  • Full-field Imaging
  • Coherent Imaging
  • PEEM
  • Electron Microscopy
  • Microdiffraction
  • Data Analysis
  • Detectors

Conference Chairs

  • Peter Siddons (BNL)
  • Juergen Thieme (BNL)

Evening Events

Registered attendees are invited to attend the banquet dinner and welcome reception.

Monday Night Welcome Reception
Berkner Hall (Bldg. 488)
Main Lobby
September 14, 2015 6:00-8:00 PM
Cost: No charge for registered attendees

Thursday Night Banquet
Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center (Atlantis Marine World)
431 East Main Street
Riverhead, NY 11901
PH: 631.208.9200
September 17, 2015 6:30 PM
Cost: $85/pp, beer, wine and shuttle included
Directions | Facility Map

Transportation to Atlantis Marine World is included for all registered attendees. The bus will depart BNL's Berkner Hall at about 5:50 PM and will depart from Riverhead's Long Island Aquarium at about 10:00 PM returning to Berkner Hall (BNL).

NSLS-II Facility Tour
Participants will be able to tour the National Synchrotron Light Source II on Wednesday, September 16, 2015. View Details

Previous Conferences

Invited Speakers

  • Ray Barrett (ESRF Grenoble)
  • Sebastien Boutet (SLAC Stanford)
  • Ken Evans-Lutterodt (BNL)
  • Carlo Fiorini (Politechnico Milan)
  • Alessandra Gianoncelli (ELETTRA Trieste)
  • Doga Gurney (APS Argonne)
  • Veijo Honkimaeki (ESRF Grenoble)
  • Yeukuang Hwu (TPS Hsinchu)
  • Mourad Idir (BNL)
  • Hendrik Kuepper (U of South Bohemia)
  • Jianwei Miao (UC Los Angeles)
  • Evgeny Nazaretski (BNL)
  • David Paterson (AS Melbourne)
  • Martin Radtke (BAM Berlin)
  • Stefan Rehbein (Helmholtz-Berlin)
  • Andreas Scholl (ALS)
  • Christian Schroer (DESY Hamburg)
  • David Shapiro (ALS Berkeley)
  • Qun Shen (BNL)
  • Stefan Vogt (APS Argonne)
  • Kazuto Yamauchi (Osaka U)
  • Judy Yang (U of Pittsburgh)

Local Organizers

  • Yong Chu (BNL)
  • Gretchen Cisco (BNL)
  • Andrei Fluerasu (BNL)
  • Mourad Idir (BNL)
  • Qun Shen (BNL)
  • Lutz Wiegart (BNL)
  • Nancye Wright (BNL)
  • Hanfei Yan (BNL)
  • Yimei Zhu (BNL)
  • Paul Zschack (BNL)

Important Dates

Jan 15, 2015 Abstract submission, apply for student scholarship assistance, and registration opens
Mar 31, 2017 Submission deadline for student scholarship assistance
Apr 7, 2015 Submission deadline for student scholarship supervisor support letters (by e-mail)
Apr 20, 2015 Notification of acceptance for student scholarship assistance (by e-mail)
Apr 18, 2015 Deadline to submit an abstract for oral/poster presentation has been extended
Jul 22, 2015 Notification of accepted oral presentations


Click on the "Conference Information" tab above to find accommodation information.

Note: BNL will provide daily buses to and from the Conference Hotels and Brookhaven National Laboratory. Schedule will be available soon.


Top of Page

Last Modified: December 27, 2017