Magnet Division Scientific Staff

Arup Ghosh: metallurgist with expertise in superconductors, superconductor testing, magnet construction and testing, cryogenics. Consultant to CERN during LHC conductor production. Lectures at Applied Superconductivity Conference.

Ramesh Gupta: magnet design including novel approach to field quality improvement and innovative use of high temperature superconductors. Lectures at the U.S. Particle Accelerator School.

Michael Harrison: Head of BNL Nanocenter Project, previously Head of Magnet Division and Head of RHIC Collider Construction. Member of DESY, LHC, and ILC accelerator advisory committees.

Ping He: Postdoc, working with on ILC vibration measurements. Also accelerator physics experience (e.g., electron cloud).

Animesh Jain: magnetic field measurements, vibration measurements, magnet design (special codes), direct wind software (for support tube imperfections). Lectures on magnetic field measurements at CERN and at the U.S. Particle Accelerator School.

Brett Parker: magnet design that combines accelerator physics and experience with direct wind magnets, direct wind coil design code, eddy current calculations. Member of the ILC Global Design Effort Beam Delivery System team.

Steven Peggs: accelerator physics, head of U.S. LARP

William Sampson: magnet design and construction, most recently focused on HTS tape and cable characterization and coil construction and test. Made the first Nb₃Sn accelerator quadrupole. (part time)

Peter Wanderer: Acting Head of the Magnet Division, Task Leader for LARP 4m magnet work. Member, scientific program committees, Particle Accelerator Conference, Applied Superconductivity Conference, Magnet Technology Conf.