BNL Home

John Hill

NSLS-II Division Director for Experimental Facilities

HillAfter earning a B.Sc. degree in physics from Imperial College, London in 1986, Hill earned a Ph.D. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992. From there, he joined the Department of Physics, Brookhaven National Laboratory, as a post doc. He was promoted through the ranks and received tenure in 1999. He was appointed Group Leader of the X-ray Scattering Group in 2001.

He served on the NSLS UEC from 1999 to 2001, and from 2001 to 2007 he was the Executive Director of IXS-CDT, a consortium that led the design, construction, and commissioning of an inelastic x-ray scattering beamline at the Advanced Photon Source, utilizing funds from the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation.

His research is currently focused on understanding the novel electronic ground states and excitations in strongly correlated electron systems using inelastic and resonant x-ray scattering techniques. Hill was awarded the Presidential Early Career Award and the DOE Young Independent Scientist Award in 1996 and was elected a fellow of the APS in 2002.

In February 2006, he was appointed Experimental Facilities Division Director for the NSLS-II project, with responsibility for overseeing all aspects of the design, construction, and commissioning of the Experimental Facilities a scope of work that includes beamlines, the associated R&D programs, and the interaction with users.

Last Modified: May 2, 2014
Please forward all questions about this site to: Gary Schroeder