BNL Home

2017 New York Scientific Data Summit (NYSDS)

Data-Driven Discovery in Science and Industry


Led by the Computational Science Initiative’s at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), the New York Scientific Data Summit (NYSDS) aims to accelerate data-driven discovery and innovation by bringing together researchers, developers and end-users from academia, industry, utilities and state and federal governments. Jointly organized by Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), Stony Brook University (SBU), and New York University (NYU).

With keynote speakers from industry and international big-science projects, the 2-1/2 day conference is organized into five sessions:

  • Streaming Data Analysis
  • Autonomous Experiments
  • Big Theory for Big Data
  • Interactive Exploration of Extreme Scale Data
  • Performance for Big Data

Co-hosts include BNL, the Institute for Advanced Computational Science at SBU, the NYSTAR High-Performance Computing Consortium (HPC2), the New York University Center for Data Science, the IEEE Computer Society-Long Island Chapter, and the Moore-Sloan Data Science Environment.

We expect to publish the NYSDS 2017 conference proceedings through the IEEE Xplore digital library.

Abstract Submission for Research Papers & Posters

If you are interested in submitting an abstract, please submit your research paper abstract by June 6, 2017 or a poster session abstract by July 17, 2017.
Begin Submission

Evening Event

Registered attendees are invited to attend the conference dinner; free of charge for registered participants.

Tuesday Night Dinner
New York University
Rosenthal Pavilion
Tuesday, August 8, 2017, 7-9 PM
View Map



Click on the "Conference & BNL Information" tab above to find accommodation information.

Program Committee

  • Kerstin Kleese van Dam (BNL)
  • Frank Alexander (BNL)
  • Barbara Chapman (SBU/BNL)
  • Nicholas D’Imperio (BNL)
  • Michael McGuigan (BNL)
  • Lauri Peragine (BNL)
  • Kyle Cranmer (NYU)
  • Robert Harrison (SBU/BNL)
  • Metodi Filipov (IEEE)
  • Marjaneh Issapour (IEEE)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Lauri Peragine (BNL)
  • Gina Liles (BNL)
  • Eileen Pinkston (BNL)
  • Maureen Anderson (BNL)
  • Michael McGuigan (BNL)

NYSDS Sponsors

Top of Page

Last Modified: December 27, 2017