## NSLS-II & CFN Users' Meeting

We welcome all first-time, current, and future users

The Users' Meeting will be hosted by Brookhaven National Laboratory and will be held on April 28–30, 2025.



## Monday, April 28 – Workshops (Workshop locations) 7:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Exhibitor Set Up Berkner Hall Lobby 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. **Registration and Check-In** 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Exhibitor Hall Open 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Poster Set-up & Viewing (self-directed) 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Workshop #1 – New Bio-Imaging Opportunities with Cryo- Soft X-ray Tomography (cryo-SXT) at NSLS-II Organizers: Yang Yang (NSLS-II, BNL) Venera Weinhardt (University of Heidelberg), John Sinsheimer (NSLS-II, BNL), Carolyn Larabell (UC San Francisco), Eva Peirero (ALBA Synchrotron), Qun Liu (Biology, BNL), Ian Dobbie (Johns Hopkins University), Anthony Fitzpatrick (Columbia University), Julio Cesar da Silva (Institut Neel, CNRS, France), Mircea Cotlet (CFN, BNL), Axel Ekman (UC San Francisco) Location: Physics, Bldg. 510 – Large Seminar Room 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Workshop #2 – Advancing Sustainable Nanotechnology: Exploring Nanomaterials in Operando Conditions at CFN Organizers: Sara E. Mason (CFN, BNL), Dario Stacchiola (CFN, BNL), Dmitri Zakharov (CFN, BNL), Geoffrey D. Bothum (University of Rhode Island), Jason C. White (CAES), Illya Medina Velo (Houston Christian University), Nubia Zuverza-Mena (CAES) Location: CFN, Bldg. 735 – Large Seminar Room 8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Workshop # 3 – Towards Electrification of Thermal Catalysis Organizers: Eli Stavitski, Steven Farrell, Sahjit Ghose, Adrian Hunt, Jorge Moncada Vivas, Akhil Tayal, Dominik Wierzbicki, Dali Yang (NSLS II, BNL), Dario Stacchiola (CFN, BNL) *Location: Moved to Berkner Auditorium (am)* 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Workshop # 4 – Shining Light on Catalysis Towards a Sustainable Future

Organizers: Dali Yang (NSLS-II), Dominik Wierzbicki (NSLS-II), Dmitry Polyansky (Chemistry Division), Iradwikanari Waluyo (NSLS-II), Lu Ma (NSLS-II), Juan Jimenez (Chemistry Division), Jorge Moncada Vivas (NSLS-II) Location: Chemistry, Bldg. 555 – Hamilton Seminar Room (pm)

\*Continental breakfasts will be provided at workshop locations; lunches will be set up in Berkner Hall Cafeteria. Bus transportation available to/from the workshop locations. Please see registration desk for details.

5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. Welcome Reception & Poster Session Competition

**Tuesday, April 29 – Plenary Session** (Building 488, Berkner Hall Auditorium)

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.	Continental Breakfast (provided to all plenary session attendees)
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Exhibitor Hall Open
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Poster Set-up & Viewing (self-directed)

## **Plenary Session Webinar Link:**

https://bnl.zoomgov.com/j/1607308097?pwd=lMhTIJPmkICearmHnVA8blblyqVeYx.1

8:50 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.	Welcome Remarks - Wilson Chiu and Shize Yang, NSLS-II and CFN UEC Vice Chairs
9:00 a.m. – 9:10 a.m.	Welcome - JoAnne Hewett, BNL Director
9:10 a.m. – 9:40 a.m.	NSLS-II Update - Elke Arenholz, NSLS-II Director (25 mins + 5 mins QA)
9:40 a.m. – 10:10 a.m.	CFN Update - Chuck Black, CFN Director (25 mins + 5 mins QA)
10:10 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Coffee Break (provided) Users' Meeting Planning Committee Group Photo
10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	Keynote Speaker – Liangbing Hu, Yale University "Energy Materials: Ultrahigh Temperature Heating and Wood" (25 mins + 5 mins QA)

11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.	BES Update – Bindu Nair, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences, DOE Office of Science (25 mins + 5 mins QA)
11:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.	Awards
	Julian D. Baumert PhD Thesis Award announcement UEC Community Service Award announcement Outstanding Beamline Scientist Award announcement (presented by Wilson Chiu, NSLS-II and Shize Yang, CFN UEC Vice Chairs) Poster Award Winners announcement (presented by Lucas Flagg and Dennis Lee, Poster Session Subcommittee Chairs)
11:45 a.m 11:50 a.m.	Announcement of Incoming UEC Members (presented by NSLS-II and CFN UEC Chairs)
11:50 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.	Lunch, Poster Viewing and Exhibitor Networking Session (lunch provided to <u>registered workshop attendees</u> in lower Cafeteria)
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.	NSLS-II & CFN UEC Lunch with BES, DOE (Berkner Hall, Conference Room A/Hybrid)
1:10 p.m. – 1:20 p.m.	Committee Photos 1:10 p.m. NSLS-II UEC Members 1:15 p.m. CFN UEC Members
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Workshop #5 – Advanced Characterization and Modeling of Extended Defects in Microelectronics Materials Organizers: Judith Yang, Chang-Yong Nam, Sooyeon Hwang (CFN, BNL) Location: CFN, Bldg. 735 – Large Seminar Room
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Workshop #6 – Correlative Imaging in Material Science with X-rays and <u>Electrons</u> Organizers: Thomas Feggeler (NSLS-II), Wen Hu (NSLS-II) Location: Medical, Bldg. 490 – Large Seminar Room
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	<u>Workshop #7 – The HRD Beamline, the Future of High Resolution</u> <u>Powder Diffraction at NSLS-II (part 1)</u> Organizers: Dave Billing (University of the Witwatersrand, SA), Dan Olds (NSLS-II, BNL), Thomas Caswell (NSLS-II, BNL) Location: Chemistry, Bldg. 555 – Hamilton Seminar Room (pm)
3:45 p.m 5:00 p.m.	Facility Tours

(Bus transportation will depart Berkner Hall promptly at 3:50 pm)

6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Users' Meeting Banquet – The Waterview, Port Jefferson, NY (*Bus transportation will depart Berkner Hall at 5:30 pm*)

Wednesday, April 30 – (Workshop locations)	- Workshops
7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Registration and Check-In
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Exhibitor Hall Open
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Poster Set-up & Viewing (self-directed)
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.	Workshop #7 – The HRD Beamline, the Future of High Resolution Powder Diffraction at NSLS-II (part 2) Organizers: Dave Billing (University of the Witwatersrand, SA), Dan Olds (NSLS-II, BNL), Thomas Caswell (NSLS-II, BNL) Location: Chemistry, Bldg. 555 – Hamilton Seminar Room (am)
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	<u>Workshop #8 – Exploring Tender X-Ray Techniques for Energy Storage</u> <u>Research</u> Organizers: Sha Tan (BNL), Enyuan Hu (BNL), Dominik Wierzbicki (BNL), Yonghua Du (BNL), Ashley Head (BNL) Location: Physics, Bldg. 510 – Large Seminar Room
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Workshop #9 – Multi-Dimensional Imaging of Nanostructure: Confronting Spectroscopy and Tomography with Automation Organizers: Ming Lu (CFN, BNL), Aaron Michelson (CFN/BNL), Sooyeon Hwang (CFN, BNL) Location: CFN, Bldg. 735 – Large Seminar Room
9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	<u>Workshop #11 – Future Nanoprobe Microscopy Capabilities at NSLS-II</u> Organizers: Xiaojing Huang, Yong Chu, Padraic Shafer (NSLS-II), Ana Diaz (Paul Scherrer Institute) Location: Berkner, Bldg. 488 – Auditorium
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Workshop #10 – Advanced Characterization of Advanced Manufacturing Organizers: Zhongshu Ren (NSLS-II), Ajith Pattammattel (NSLS-II), Andrew Kiss (NSLS-II), Lu Ming (CFN), Lutz Wiegart (NSLS-II), Ruipeng Li (NSLS-II), Yuan Gao (NSLS-II), Zhengtao Gan (ASU), Zhongshu Ren (NSLS- II) Location: Chemistry, Bldg. 555 – Hamilton Seminar Room (pm)

\*Continental breakfasts will be provided at workshop locations; lunches will be set up in Berkner Hall Cafeteria. Bus transportation available to/from the workshop locations. Please see registration desk for details.

*<u>Note</u>: All events will be held in Berkner Hall, building 488, unless otherwise indicated on the agenda.*