Innovation XLab: Quantum Information Science & Technology Summit

General Lab Information

Summit Agenda

Download Agenda (pdf)
All times are in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT).

Conner Prochaska, Chief Commercialization Officer, Department of Energy and Director, Office of Technology Transitions, will lead the Summit.

Day 1: Wednesday, October 7th

Day 2: Thursday, October 8th

  • 1:00 – 1:10 p.m. Opening Remarks – Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Director of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • 1:10 – 2:00 p.m. Panel: Quantum Networking & Communication
    • Moderator, David Awschalom, Liew Family Professor, University of Chicago; Q-NEXT Director and Quantum Group Leader, Argonne National Laboratory; Director, Chicago Quantum Exchange
    • Raymond T. Newell, Quantum Communications Team Leader, Los Alamos National Laboratory
    • Duncan Earl, President & CTO, Qubitekk
    • Kathy-Anne Soderberg, Senior Research Scientist, Air Force Research Lab
    • Eden Figueroa, Joint Appointee, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Instrumentation Division and Computational Science Initiative; Professor and Quantum Information Technology Group Lead, Stony Brook University
    • Maria Spiropulu, Shang-Yi Ch’en Professor of Physics, Caltech
  • 2:00 – 2:45 p.m. Panel: Quantum Workforce Development
    • Moderator, Chenelle Bonavito Martinez, Vice President, STEM Talent Programs, New York Academy of Sciences
    • Harriet Kung, Deputy Director for Science Programs in the Office of Science, Department of Energy
    • Maurie D. McInnis, President, Stony Brook University
    • William Oliver, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Laboratory Fellow, Lincoln Laboratory; Director, Center for Quantum Engineering; Associate Director, Research Laboratory of Electronics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2:45 – 3:15 p.m. NETWORKING BREAK
  • 3:15 – 4:00 p.m. Panel: Department of Energy Investments & Capabilities in Quantum Materials R&D
    • Moderator, Linda Horton, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences, Department of Energy, Office of Science
    • Mark Ritter, Chair, Physical Sciences Council at IBM Research
    • Jim Misewich, Associate Lab Director, Energy Sciences, Brookhaven National Laboratory
    • Ben Lawrie, Research Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    • Laura Greene, Chief Scientist, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and Krafft Professor of Physics, Florida State University
  • 4:00 – 4:45 p.m. Panel: Quantum Computing Software, Architecture & Simulation
    • Moderator, Horst Simon, Deputy Director for Research, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
    • Martin Roetteler, Principal Research Manager, Microsoft Quantum
    • Prineha Narang, Assistant Professor, John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University
    • Nathan Wiebe, Senior Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    • Chris Brown, Director, Quantum Solutions, Zapata Computing
  • 4:45 – 4:50 p.m. Closing Comments, Conner Prochaska, Chief Commercialization Officer, Department of Energy and Director, Office of Technology Transitions
  • 4:50 – 5:05 p.m. Day 2 Summary, Barbara Helland, Associate Director, Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR), U.S. Department of Energy

Need Assistance?

Please contact the summit coordinator if you have questions.

Diana Murphy