General Information

Top of Page

Laboratory Holiday Schedule

The Laboratory designates eleven and one-half days in each calendar year as observed holidays. A holiday is defined as a specified period when normal Laboratory operations are suspended and eligible employees are excused from work at no loss in pay. The holiday benefit is extended, by means of additional pay or other compensation, to eligible employees who are required or not scheduled to work during the designated period. In addition to the regularly established Laboratory holidays, the Director may declare a "Special Holiday" in response to a Presidential proclamation.

2015 Holidays
New Year's Day Thursday, January 1, 2015
Floating Holiday (Martin Luther King Jr. Day) Monday, January 19, 2015
President's Day Monday, February 16, 2015
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2015
Independence Day (observed) Friday, July 3, 2015
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2015
Veteran's Day Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2015
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 27, 2015
Christmas Eve (1/2 day) Thursday, December 24, 2015
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2015
Floating Holiday (New Year's Eve) Thursday, December 31, 2015

* The Christmas Eve Half-Holiday consists of the last four hours of regularly scheduled work preceding Christmas Day. A holiday which occurs on a Saturday is observed on the prior Friday; a holiday which occurs on a Sunday is observed on the succeeding Monday.