General Lab Information


This is a two-day Symposium (“EXAFS-50”) that will be devoted to marking the 50th anniversary of discovery of EXAFS. The workshop will bring together the scientists that will talk about the past and present of EXAFS technique and cover topics discussing its future potential and applications. EXAFS is one of the major synchrotron techniques at the DOE light sources and the workshop’s scope directly supports the mission of DOE to establish leadership in advanced characterization at the DOE large user facilities.

Confirmed Speakers

  • Prof. Grant Bunker (IIT)
  • Prof. Anatoly Frenkel (SBU/BNL)
  • Dr. Daniel Haskel (ANL)
  • Dr. Steve Heald (APS/ANL- retired)
  • Dr. Shelly Kelly (ANL)
  • Dr. Victor Krayzman (NIST)
  • Prof. Alexei Kuzmin (U. Latvia, Riga)
  • Dr. Matthew Newville (U. Chicago/APS/ANL)
  • Prof. John Rehr (UW)
  • Prof. Gerald Seidler (UW)
  • Dr. Janis Timoshenko (Fritz Haber Institute)
  • Dr. Joseph Woicik (NIST/BNL)



Symposium Organizer

  • Anatoly Frenkel (BNL)

Symposium Administrator

  • Sarah Peters (BNL)


This event does not have a hotel room block. Participants should make their hotel reservation. When booking your reservation, you may need to guarantee your room with a credit card.

Remember to ask about their cancellation policy and if they offer shuttle service. Details

Important Dates

August 21, 2023 General registration opens
October 15, 2023 General registration closes. Note: deadline extended.
October 15, 2023 Additional registration deadline for all participants who do not have an active appointment with Brookhaven Lab. You will be directed to the appropriate form once you have completed the event registration.

Symposium Information