Women in Physics: Apply Now for 2023 Scharff-Goldhaber Prize

By Amber Aponte

Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber

Brookhaven Women in Science (BWIS) is now accepting applications for the 2023 Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber Prize. This year’s prize is $4,000, made possible by donations from the Brookhaven National Laboratory Nuclear & Particle Physics Directorate, Physics Department, Energy & Photon Sciences Directorate, and Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Office, as well as Brookhaven Science Associates and the Long Island Section of the American Nuclear Society.

Administered by BWIS, the prize was created to honor late physicist Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber for her outstanding contributions in the field of nuclear physics, her advocacy in fostering a general understanding of physics, and for her support of women in science.

"This prize creates an opportunity to honor the accomplishments and tenacity of Dr. Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber, while recognizing the advancements made by women in physics,” said Jessica Gasparik, co-officer of the Scharff-Goldhaber Prize, president-elect of BWIS, and a physics associate at Brookhaven’s NASA Space Radiation Lab.  “Thank you to the donors and applicants for allowing the prize to continue and grow!”

The prize is granted to a female graduate student in physics who is recognized for her substantial promise and accomplishment. To be eligible, she must be an enrolled physics graduate student who is a candidate for a doctoral degree, but she should not have graduated with that degree before 2023. She must be performing her thesis research at Brookhaven Lab and/or enrolled in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Stony Brook University.

"This award puts a spotlight on female rising stars in physics and provides role models for girls considering a career in science,” said Marc-André Pleier, co-officer of the prize, physicist, and deputy group leader of the OMEGA group. “It has been truly rewarding to meet these outstanding scientists over the years I have been administering this prize and follow the recipients' careers afterwards."

Please apply using the online form. The application deadline is April 1, 2023. The award recipient will be announced in June and the award ceremony will take place later in the summer.

Contact BWISSGAward@bnl.gov for more information.

2023-21111  |  INT/EXT  |  Newsroom