BNL Home

Laboratory Holiday Schedule

The Laboratory designates eleven and one-half days in each calendar year as observed holidays. A holiday is defined as a specified period when normal Laboratory operations are suspended and eligible employees are excused from work at no loss in pay. The holiday benefit is extended, by means of additional pay or other compensation, to eligible employees who are required or not scheduled to work during the designated period. In addition to the regularly established Laboratory holidays, the Director may declare a "Special Holiday" in response to a Presidential proclamation.

2016 Holidays
New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2016
Floating Holiday (Martin Luther King Jr. Day) Monday, January 18, 2016
President's Day Monday, February 15, 2016
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2016
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2016
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2016
Veteran's Day Friday, November 11, 2016
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2016
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2016
Christmas Eve (1/2 day, observed) Friday, December 23, 2016
Christmas Day (observed) Monday, December 26, 2016
Floating Holiday (Day After Christmas, observed) Tuesday, December 27, 2016
2017 Holidays
New Year's Day (observed) Monday, January 2, 2017
Floating Holiday - Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2017
President's Day Monday, February 20, 2017
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2017
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2017
Floating Holiday - Columbus Day Monday, October 9, 2017
Veteran's Day Friday, November 10, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23, 2017
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 24, 2017
Christmas Eve (1/2 day, observed) Friday, December 22, 2017
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2017

* The Christmas Eve Half-Holiday consists of the last four hours of regularly scheduled work preceding Christmas Day. A holiday which occurs on a Saturday is observed on the prior Friday; a holiday which occurs on a Sunday is observed on the succeeding Monday.