General Information

Top of Page

Laboratory Holiday Schedule

The Laboratory designates eleven and one-half days in each calendar year as observed holidays. A holiday is defined as a specified period when normal Laboratory operations are suspended and eligible employees are excused from work at no loss in pay. The holiday benefit is extended, by means of additional pay or other compensation, to eligible employees who are required or not scheduled to work during the designated period. In addition to the regularly established Laboratory holidays, the Director may declare a "Special Holiday" in response to a Presidential proclamation.

2014 Holidays
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2014
Floating Holiday (Martin Luther King Jr. Day) Monday, January 20, 2014
President's Day Monday, February 17, 2014
Memorial Day Monday, May 26, 2014
Independence Day Friday, July 4, 2014
Labor Day Monday, September 1, 2014
Veteran's Day Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 27, 2014
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 28, 2014
Christmas Eve (1/2 day) Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Christmas Day Thursday, December 25, 2014
Floating Holiday (Day After Christmas Day) Friday, December 26, 2014

* The Christmas Eve Half-Holiday consists of the last four hours of regularly scheduled work preceding Christmas Day. A holiday which occurs on a Saturday is observed on the prior Friday; a holiday which occurs on a Sunday is observed on the succeeding Monday.