General Lab Information

The SURGE Collaboration aims at the discovery and exploration of the gluon saturation regime in quantum chromodynamics (QCD) by advancing calculations to high precision and developing a comprehensive framework that allows comparison to a wide range of experimental data from hadron/ion colliders, and make predictions for the Electron-Ion Collider (EIC). This work requires advances on different theoretical frontiers, including:

  • Development of new techniques for computing gluon distributions in the non-saturated regime
  • Elevating calculations of the energy evolution towards the saturation regime and of final observables to high precision
  • New developments for computing the formation and modeling of the final particles that emerge from these collisions
  • Monte-Carlo implementations of these calculations, which mimic events as they occur in the experiments.

The SURGE Collaboration supports postdocs, graduate, and undergraduate students at eleven universities and Brookhaven National Laboratory.

Collaboration Members

Brookhaven National Laboratory
Y. Hatta, D. Kharzeev, Y. Mehtar-Tani, S. Mukherjee, P. Petreczky, B. Schenke, R. Venugopalan

Old Dominion University / Thomas Jefferson Laboratory
I. Balitsky

McGill University
S. Caron-Huot

CUNY, Baruch College
A. Dumitru, J. Jalilian-Marian

University of California, Los Angeles
Z. Kang

The Ohio State University
Y. Kovchegov

University of Connecticut
A. Kovner

University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
J. Noronha-Hostler

Southern Methodist University
F. Olness

Lebanon Valley College
D. Pitonyak

New Mexico State University
M. Sievert

North Carolina State University
V. Skokov

Penn State University
A. Stasto

University of California Berkeley / Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
X.-N. Wang

Experimental Liaisons

Cesar Luiz da Silva (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Abhay Deshpande (Stony Brook University, Center for Frontiers in Nuclear Science)
Olga Evdokimov (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Spencer Klein (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Thomas Peitzmann (Utrecht University and Nikhef, Netherlands)
Christophe Royon (University of Kansas)
Charlotte van Hulse (Orsay,France)

External Collaborators

Nestor Armesto (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain)
Christian Bierlich (Lund University, Sweden)
Renaud Boussarie (Ecole Polytechnique, France)
Paul Caucal (SUBATECH, Nantes)
Edmond Iancu (Saclay, France)
Tuomas Lappi (Jyvaskyla University and Helsinki Institute of Physics, Finland)
Heikki Mantysaari (Jyvaskyla University and Helsinki Institute of Physics, Finland)
Duff Neill (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Farid Salazar (INT, Seattle)
Phiala Shanahan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Bowen Xiao (The Chinese University of Hong Kong,China)