General Lab Information

RBRC Research Groups

Yoshitaka Hatta

Group Leader: Yoshitaka Hatta

Theory Group

The RBRC Theory Group conducts cutting-edge research on the frontiers of RHIC science. Our mission is to advance the understanding of the strongly interacting matter explored by the proton-proton and nucleus-nucleus collisions at the sPHENIX, with an eye toward the future Electron-Ion Collider experiment at BNL. The main topics of interest are the spin structure of the proton, the gluon saturation at small-x, jet quenching, the QCD phase diagram, and the hydrodynamical evolution of the Quark-Gluon Plasma.

RBRC theorists interact closely with the members of the BNL Nuclear Theory, High Energy Theory, and Lattice Gauge Theory Groups as well as with visiting researchers from around the world.

Theory Group Members

Y. Hatta, Group Leader

Research Associates
Jakob Schoenleber
Manu Kurian


Group Leader: Taku Izubuchi

Computing Group

The RBRC Computing Group has close interactions with BNL High Energy Theory Groups, Nuclear Theory, and Lattice Gauge Theory Groups. They collaborate closely with Japanese, U.S., U.K. universities, and laboratories with visiting scientists from universities such as Columbia, Connecticut, and Nagoya University.

The main mission of the group is to solve the dynamics of QCD from first principle lattice simulations and provide important numerical information indispensible in interpreting experimental theories of particle and nuclear physics.

Computing Group Members

T. Izubuchi, Group Leader

Research Associates
Dennis Bollweg
Masaaki Tomii
Raza Sufian

Luchang Jin


Group Leader: Yasuyuki Akiba

Experimental Group

The Experimental Group studies the spin structure of the proton via polarized p+p collisions at RHIC and the properties of quark gluon plasma produced in heavy ion collisions at RHIC. The Group also develops various detectors for PHENIX experiment as well as polarimeters for RHIC.

Experimental Group Members

Y. Akiba, Group Leader

Yuji Goto
Itaru Nakagawa
Ralf Seidl
Yasushi Watanabe
Satoshi Yokkaichi

Research Associates
Akitomo Enokizono
Minho Kim
Genki Nukazuka