Apply Now for 2024 Chasman Award for Women

By Amber Aponte

Renate Chasman

The application deadline is now April 1. It was extended from the date originally announced (March 15).

Applications are now being accepted for the 2024 Renate W. Chasman Award for Women, provided by Brookhaven Women in Science (BWIS) at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Brookhaven National Laboratory.

This year, BWIS is pleased to offer two awards of $3,400 each, made possible by generous contributions from the following groups: Long Island Section of the American Nuclear Society (LIANS), National Synchrotron Light Source II (NSLS-II), Human Resources Directorate, Energy and Photon Sciences Directorate, Nuclear and Particle Physics Directorate, Center for Functional Nanomaterials Users Executive Committee, NSLS-II Users Executive Committee, and the Computational Science Initiative.

The Chasman Award encourages women to pursue careers in the science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The award honors the memory and scientific contributions of Renate Chasman (1932-1977), a noted physicist at Brookhaven Lab. Her work significantly influenced the design of electron particle accelerators around the world, including Brookhaven’s NSLS and its successor, NSLS-II, a $912 million state-of-the-art facility that became operational in 2015.

The award recipients will be announced in the spring. The date, time, location, and online access to the award ceremony will also be announced later this year.

BWIS is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in scientific and technical careers and established the Chasman Award in 1986. The award has been bestowed on more than 40 exemplary students and early career professional women in the STEM fields.

Eligibility requirements

  • The award is limited to women.
  • Candidates must be graduate students at an accredited educational institution doing research at Brookhaven National Laboratory in the STEM disciplines.
  • Candidates receiving their graduate degree on or before May 2024 are not eligible.

The application deadline is April 1.

Apply for the Renate W. Chasman Award

For questions about this year’s award or the application requirements, contact

2024-21664  |  INT/EXT  |  Newsroom