News and Notes

interactions within the CFN community

Jason Trelewicz

Stony Brook University assistant professor Jason Trelewicz in an electron microscopy laboratory at CFN, where he characterizes nanoscale structures in metals mixed with other elements.

News Stories

Awards and Honors

Service Awards

  • 5-Year Service Award: Dmitri Zakharov, Scientist, Electron Microscopy

Spotlight Awards

  • James Buddenhagen, Operations and Engineering Support, Operations—volunteered to be the CFN representative on the BNL Lab Electrical Safety Committee
  • Fernando Camino, Staff Scientist, Electron Microscopy—served as lead organizer for CFN Summer Sunday
  • Pamela Ciufo, Administrative Assistant, Administration—developed a process for posting the CFN Highlights on the CFN webpage and CFN lobby electronic display, and for uploading them to the NSRC web portal
  • Lorraine Davis, Operations Manager, Operations—guided the operations side of one of the CFN surface science instruments being completely reconfigured in order to ensure safer and improved operations
  • Lizette Domenech, Administrative Assistant, Administration—streamlined the process of onboarding visiting students with a BNL-sponsored J1 visa
  • Kim Kisslinger, Technical Associate, Electron Microscopy—worked diligently to bring the new FEI Talos transmission electron microscope into the CFN user program
  • Albert Langhorn, Operations Technical Associate, Operations—moved the AP-PES endstation at NSLS-II to a new location quickly and unexpectedly during a shut-down period
  • Rita Nicholaides, Senior Budget Specialist, BNL Business Services Directorate—took initiative in proposing and executing an initiative to improve the process by which CFN tracks its spending
  • Qin Wu, Staff Scientist, Theory and Computation—took responsibility for the transition of the CFN computing facility from a stand-alone system supported by ITD to being a part of a shared facility under the Computational Science Initiative with new operating procedures
  • Donna Storan, Administrative Specialist, Administration—took initiative to develop and implement a spreadsheet for travel projections, recording actual travel costs, and calculating each group’s remaining travel budget
  • Joann Tesoriero, Administrative Assistant, Administration—coordinated the Science Advisory Committee Meeting
  • Alexei Tkachenko, Staff Scientist, Theory and Computation—demonstrated initiative in improving the culture of CFN by proposing a change to the structure of the weekly coffee break, leading a working group to formulate a plan, and then heading its implementation
  • Grace Webster, User Program Administration and Outreach Coordinator, Administration—took initiative to develop a new process for monitoring the number of users coming to the CFN each month
  • Gwen Wright, Technical Associate, Electronic Nanomaterials—took on the responsibility of liquid nitrogen operations for CFN

Comings and Goings

New Hires

  • Sencer Selcuk, Postdoc, Theory and Computation

New Alumni

  • Paulo Castillo, Postdoc, Electron Microscopy
  • Chunli Ma, Postdoc, Soft and Bio Nanomaterials
  • Niladri Patra, Postdoc, Theory and Computation
  • Ramya Raghunathan, Postdoc, Electronic Nanomaterials
  • Ye Tian, Postdoc, Soft and Bio Nanomaterials

2017-12655  |  INT/EXT  |  Newsroom