R.C. Murphy Junior High School Wins Science Bowl at Brookhaven Lab

Lawrence Middle School wins hydrogen fuel cell car challenge

UPTON, NY — For the third year in a row, students from R.C. Murphy Junior High School took first place in the regional Middle School Science Bowl held at Brookhaven Lab. On March 19, 100 students were challenged in the fast-paced question-and-answer tournament designed to test students’ knowledge of life sciences, energy, earth & space sciences, mathematics, and general science.

2011 science bowl winners enlarge

Photo Credit: Photo courtesy of Frank Frego
With their coach, Patrick McManus, are first-place regional Science Bowl winners from R.C. Murphy Middle School: (from left) John Welde, Rajiv Moturu, Daniel Redlinger, Matthew Cornell and Felix Wang.

2011 hydrogen fuel-cell car winners enlarge

With coaches Kristine Suapengco (left) and Kobir Gupta (right) are Lawrence Middle School students who won the hydrogen fuel-cell car competition (from left): Louis Jan, Jennifer Kendal, Brandon Berkowitz, and Maxine Kastriner.

Locust Valley Middle School was the second-place winner, William Floyd Middle School took third place, and Longwood Junior High School took fourth place.

Lawrence Middle School won first place in the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Car Challenge in which students design, build, and race model cars. Two teams from William Floyd Middle School won second and third place. The first-place team’s car raced down the ten-meter track in 4.47 seconds. Since the two William Floyd teams both sent their cars down the track in 6.34 seconds, a tie-breaker contest was held to determine the second-place winner.

The Regional Science Bowl at Brookhaven Lab is part of the National Science Bowl® coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. All winning teams received medals and a trophy. The first-place team in the academic competition will represent the Long Island region at the National Science Bowl®, which will be held in Washington, D.C., from April 28 to May 3, 2011. The U.S. Department of Energy will fund the team’s trip.

2011-11254  |  INT/EXT  |  Newsroom