Apply Now for 2020 Chasman Award for Women

Photo of Renate Chasman enlarge

Renate Chasman

Applications are now being accepted for the 2020 Renate W. Chasman Award for Women, provided by Brookhaven Women in Science (BWIS) at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Brookhaven National Laboratory. This year’s award is $2,500, made possible with a generous contribution of $1,000 by the Long Island Section of the American Nuclear Society (LIANS).

The Chasman Award encourages women to pursue careers in the science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The award honors the memory and scientific contributions of Renate Chasman (1932-1977), a noted physicist at Brookhaven Lab. Her work significantly influenced the design of electron particle accelerators around the world, including Brookhaven’s National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS) and its successor, NSLS-II, a $912 million state-of-the-art facility that became operational in 2015.

The award recipient will be announced in the spring of 2020. The date, time, and location of the award ceremony will be announced later this year.

BWIS is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in scientific and technical careers and established the Chasman Award in 1986. The award has been bestowed on nearly 40 exemplary students and early career professional women in the STEM fields.

“The Chasman Award commemorates one of the pioneers in research at Brookhaven National Lab. The committee looks forward to selecting the 2020 recipient of this prestigious award,” said committee officer Wai-Lin Ng. “We’re especially grateful to the Long Island American Nuclear Society for its generous contribution to enhance the award, with a special thanks to LIANS President Ed Sierra, of the Lab’s Quality Management Office.”

Eligibility requirements

  • The award is limited to women.
  • Candidates must be graduate students at an accredited educational institution doing research at Brookhaven National Laboratory in the STEM disciplines.
  • Candidates receiving their graduate degree on or before May 2020 are not eligible.

The application deadline is Feb. 28 2020. The application form can be found on the BWIS awards web page.

For questions about this year’s award or the application requirements, please contact

2020-17049  |  INT/EXT  |  Newsroom