BNL Home

Center for Emergent Superconductivity (CES)

2016 Fall Workshop


The objective of the 2016 CES Fall Workshop is to bring together our CES researchers to strengthen existing collaborations and to identify new areas of fundamental research in superconductivity across our sites. We will charge our Executive Committee and other members of our EFRC to lead the discussions communicating our CES scientific goals and synergy. Our External Advisory Board (EAB), Institutional Advisory Board (IAB), and invited visitors will be there to offer guidance.

The Research Topics will focus on our three themes:

  1. Continuing our research towards microscopic theories of unconventional superconductivity, which includes high-temperature superconductivity (HTS).
  2. Our continued development of a Materials Genome, identifying metrics of success and leading to, in the long term, "HTS by design."
  3. Research on vortex matter both for our fundamental understanding and applications, leading to, in the long term, "critical-current-by-design."

We will hold a number of 'break-out' sessions related to our focus topics to identify new research directions, collaborations and to enhance the synergy and efficiency among the three CES institutions. IAB and EAB members will be interspersed among the sessions and provide input.

The event will be held on November 14-16, 2016 in Stony Brook, NY, starting with our annual Junior Workshop on Monday, November 14, 2016 and our annual CES Workshop on November 15-16, 2016. Junior researchers will play a prominent role in talks and poster presentations.

Organizing Committee

  • J.C. (Seamus) Davis (BNL/Cornell)
  • Jim Eckstein (Univ. of Illinois)
  • Laura Greene (Florida State Univ.)
  • Peter Johnson (BNL)
  • Wai Kwok ANL
  • Mike Norman ANL
  • John Tranquada (BNL)

Evening Events

Registered attendees are invited to attend the following dinners.

Buffet Dinner
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
Monday, November 14, 2016 6-8 PM

Buffet Dinner
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 6-9 PM


Click on the "Workshop Information" tab above to find accommodation information.

Executive Committee

  • Peter Johnson
  • John Tranquada
  • Seamus Davis
  • Laura Greene
  • Jim Eckstein
  • Mike Norman
  • Wai –K. Kwok

Institutional Advisory Board (IAB)

  • Jim Misewich
  • Peter Schiffer
  • Harry Weerts

External Advisory Board (EAB)

  • Warren Pickett
  • Steve Kivelson
  • Zach Fisk
  • Alan Goldman
  • Andy Millis

Top of Page

Last Modified: December 27, 2017