BNL Home

The ATF Program Advisory Committee


    The ATF Program Advisory Committee (APAC) is responsible for evaluating research proposals from ATF users, the scientific utilization of the ATF and on developments required to achieve and maintain the highest possible scientific productivity. In keeping with this, the APAC will provide advice on the following topics:
  • User experiment proposals approval, based on scientific and / or technical merit, as appropriate.
  • Progress and performance of earlier approved user experiments.
  • Scientific output and utilization of ATF as a user facility.
  • Planning, development, and operation of ATF to meet long-term scientific objectives of the DOE Accelerator R&D and Stewardship missions.
  • Policies and procedures relevant to user access and utilization of ATF.

APAC members and an APAC Chair are appointed by the ATF Scientific Program (SP) Director for five-year terms, with approximately one third of the members rotating off and being replaced every two years. APAC is composed of six to seven scientists knowledgeable in the areas of research relevant to the ATF scientific programs. The APAC Chair may engage ad hoc consultants as needed to handle specific proposals falling outside the expertise of the PAC. Such consultants may be engaged through either mail-in or in-person participation. Alternatively, the APAC Chair may designate a subpanel charged specifically with reviewing technical or commercial-use proposals.

In general, APAC will meet annually in conjunction with the ATF User Meetings. The SP Director, in consultation with the chair of the APAC, may call additional PAC meetings as necessary. Before each meeting, the SP Director may outline a specific charge to the APAC and the advice sought from the APAC.

Sensitive deliberations of the APAC are confidential. The output of the APAC will consist of a confidential report of their findings and recommendations conveyed in a written report submitted by the APAC Chair to the SP Director shortly after each APAC meeting. Based on the APAC report and in consultation with the ATF Director, the SP Director will make recommendations on the ATF user experiment program and policies and forward them, along with the APAC report, to the ATF Director, the Collider Accelerator Department Chair, and the BNL ALD for High Energy and Nuclear Physics.

Former Scientific Program Director

  • Ilan Ben-Zvi
  • Robert Palmer

Current Committee membership

  • Bruce Carlsten (Chair), Los Alamos National Lab.
  • Jean-Pierre Delahaye, CERN
  • Louis DiMauro, Ohio State University
  • Ernest Fontes, Cornell University
  • Bjorn Hegelich, University of Texas @ Austin
  • Patric Muggli, Maz Planck Institute for Physics & CERN
  • Carl Schroeder, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.
  • Timur Shaftan, Brookhaven National Lab.
  • Alan Todd, Advanced Energy Systems


Former Chairs of the Committee

  • Swapan Chattopadhyay, Thomas Jefferson NAF
  • Chandrasekhar Joshi, UCLA
  • Wim Leemans, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.
  • James Rosenzweig, UCLA
  • Andrew Sessler, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.
  • Robert Siemann, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
  • Maury Tigner, Cornell University

Former Members of the Committee

  • Ralph Assmann, DESY
  • Ilan Ben-Zvi, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Alexander Chao, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
  • Ernest Courant, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Horst Foelsche, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Wei Gai, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Robert Gluckstern, University of Maryland
  • Katherine Harkay, Argonne National Lab.
  • Michael Harrison, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Thomas Katsouleas, Duke
  • Samuel Krinsky, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Karl Krushelnick, University of Michigan
  • Thomas Marshall, Columbia University
  • Roger Miller, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
  • Steven Milton, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Sergei Nagaitsev, Fermilab National Accelerator Lab.
  • Patrick O'Shea, University of Maryland
  • Claudio Pellegrini, University of California at Los Angeles
  • Veljko Radeka, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Ronald Ruth, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
  • Richard Sheffield, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Vladimir Shiltsev, FNAL
  • Todd Smith, Stanford University
  • Peter Thieberger, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Jonathan Wurtele, University of California at Berkeley
  • Vitaly Yakimenko, SLAC National Accelerator Lab.

Last Modified: January 05, 2015