Accelerator Division

The Accelerator Division operates and continually upgrades a complex of eight accelerators: 2 Tandem Van de Graaff electrostatic accelerators, an Electron Beam Ion Source (EBIS), a 200 MeV H- Linac, the AGS Booster, the Alternating Gradient Synchrotron (AGS), and the 2 rings of the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC).

These machines serve user programs at the Tandems, the Brookhaven Linac Isotope Producer (BLIP), the NASA Space Radiation Laboratory (NSRL), and the 2 RHIC experiments STAR, and PHENIX/sPHENIX. The Division also supports the development of new accelerators and accelerator components.

Contact Personnel

Division Head: : Michiko Minty
Deputy Division Head: Robert Michnoff
Division Assistant: Anna Petway

On-Duty Operations Coordinator: 631.344.4662

Note: Links marked with an asterisk * are restricted and can only be viewed by C-AD personnel.

Status & Documentation

RHIC Run 19
Windchill Engineering Documentation
200 MeV Proton Linac (pdf)
EBIS Design Report (pdf)
Booster Design Manual (pdf)
AGS Design Report (pdf)
RHIC Design Manual (pdf)
NSRL Design Report (pdf)
RHIC Polarized Proton Manual (pdf)

Systems & Groups

Accelerator Physics
Controls Systems [internal *]
Cryogenic Systems
Electrical Systems
  - Collider Electrical PS Systems
  - Pulsed Power Systems *
Instrumentation Systems *
Mechanical Systems
Preinjector Systems
  - Tandem
RF Systems *
Vacuum Systems

Top of Page

Last Modified: October 19, 2021