BNL Home
Photon Sciences Directorate at Brookhaven National Laboratory
« previous

November 2009

NSLS Users Take Home Prestigious Awards

Figure 1
Figure 2
Figure 3

Three NSLS users win a variety of honors. They include: New York University chemist Nadrian C. (Ned) Seeman (top left), who shared the 2010 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience for his pioneering advances in the field of DNA nanotechnology; Javier Pulecio (bottom middle), a doctoral student at the University of South Florida and a former NSLS summer intern who received the 2010 Hispanic Pathways Award in the student category; and National Institute of Standards and Technology scientist Joe Woicik (top right), who won a 2010 Department of Commerce Silver Medal for developing a novel, synchrotron-based x-ray spectroscopy method to accurately measure the site-specific nature of individual chemical bonds.